Self-host Odoo
- License
- LGPL-3.0-only
- GitHub stars
- 55,628, as of 8 Nov 2026
- Latest release
- Not stated
- Host needs
- Not stated in official docs
- Install method
- Source install
- One-click template
- Available
- License: LGPL-3.0-only (Forkshelf license override, marked open core). The LICENSE file says: "Odoo is published under the GNU LESSER GENERAL PUBLIC LICENSE, Version 3 (LGPLv3)".
- Last commit: 8 Nov 2026 01:35 SGT, as of 8 Nov 2026. The repository is not archived.
Requirements
The official source install guide is for Odoo Community, version 20.0.
CPU, RAM and disk: not stated.
The guide lists these software needs:
- "Odoo requires Python 3.12 or later to run."
- PostgreSQL "(supported versions: 16.0 or above)"
- "Odoo dependencies are listed in the requirements.txt file located at the root of the Odoo Community directory."
The Railway template runs the image odoo:19.0. The 19.0 doc gives Python 3.10 and PostgreSQL 13.0.
Docker or Docker Compose
The official guide covers a source install of Odoo Community: Odoo source install guide.
Hosting options
A Railway template for Odoo is at railway.com/deploy/odoo, created by Brody.
It shows "Total Projects 1138".
The install doc gives no RAM figure, so it cannot be checked against the Railway Free plan.
Affiliate disclosure: Forkshelf earns a commission if you sign up for Railway through the links marked "Paid link" on this page. This does not change the order or content of any guide here.
To get started, create a Railway account (Paid link).
Backups and updates
Updates: the official guide is Upgrade.
Alternatives
Odoo is listed on open-source alternatives to FreshBooks.